Don’t Ditch The Shirt: 5 Ways To Spruce Up Your T-Shirt

Got too many t-shirts? Never. Never, ever. There’s no such thing!

I strongly believe that everyone should have stockpiles of tees nestled safely in their home. Of course, it wouldn’t hurt and would be considered wise to wear them. It’s almost our obligation to wear our favorite ones until it’s the right vintage feel and color. You know the one. It’s ALWAYS the right fit. The material is paper-thin, but it still somehow feels soft. It clings to you just the right way. You guys are best friends, it totally knows what you want and need out of it.

But, wearing our favorite tees can be repetitive…. and can sometimes get a little stale. Sometimes, all your t-shirt game needs is a little inspiration. A little bit of magic. A little bit of a new way to wear it. Here’s a few ways to spruce up that tee so that it will never be boring. Don’t ditch the shirt….

1. Stick with the basics

Wear that favorite tee of yours, add your favorite cap, wear your go-to denim pants, and rock out in your favorite pair of converse. NOTHING wrong with it. Now, add a few leather bracelets,  your nerdy dog tag (thank you Nerd Block!), and don’t forget our pins. Then, to top it all off…. throw on that black jacket.  Roll up those sleeves to give it a bit more attitude.

dsc_0081

2. The Blues

Don’t shy away from a monochromatic color scheme. We had some fun with wearing denim. My husband sported his go-to denim jacket with the large pins to give it some more character. That’s the best part about denim jackets. They tend to look even better with the right amount of wear and tear, color distortions, and pins…pins…pins! Instead of converse we went with derby shoes in a blue shade (I sigh every time he wears these shoes) and a wide brim fedora to finish off the look.

dsc_1303

3. Wear that bomber jacket..

Adding color? Even better. And, check out how the shades and hat brings out the essence of the outfit. He chose a brogue pair of shoe with a wonderful detail and color.

dsc_1097

4. It’s okay to play up to your inner Bounty Hunter

Take off that bomber jacket and show off the epic shirt you’re wearing. Depending on the shirt, it’s totally cool to play up to the character you’re wearing (or theme of it). If your tee is showcasing your love for rock…  allow yourself to express a little bit of edge in your style. Or, a lot. Absolutely your choice. Have fun with it!

dsc_1127

5. Wear all black?

Sure, why not! There’s no rules to this. Only pure inspiration. It’s not boring if it’s something you love. In this case, my husband is sporting his new tee from Akumu Ink. It’s laid back, but by no means a snooze fest. We added a ripped cotton duster (can’t really see in this photo but it’s eye-catching) to the mix. He also sported his Goorin Bros. beanie and added a pin to it. The skinny jeans and leather belt was a great way to complete the edgy look. Can’t ever go wrong with an (almost) all black  ensemble .

dsc_1089

35 Comments Add yours

    1. TriOptic says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad to hear that ❤

  1. Growing up zee says:

    Great way to show so many ways to wear the same shirt! I love the bomber jacket

    1. TriOptic says:

      Thanks :). The bomber jacket is one of my favorites!

  2. Stef @ Crafty Christian says:

    Love this! I’m completely lost when it comes to fashion, I love reading other people’s views on it.

    1. TriOptic says:

      Thank you 😊 I go through phases, myself. I found it was easier to find my own style by throwing the “rule book” out the window and just have fun with it

  3. Melissa says:

    Great ideas! I love finding new ways to wear a t-shirt.

    1. TriOptic says:

      Thank you! It’s always a blast finding new ways to recycle what we already have. Money saving too!

  4. My Daily She says:

    I love all the fun ways to change things up!

    1. TriOptic says:

      Yes! It never gets boring for us… and it feels great to be able to recycle our favorites

  5. thetaylor411 says:

    I love tshirts, so hearing ways to spruce is up is awesome. Love how these accessories changes his whole look. They look great!

    1. TriOptic says:

      Thank you! We love using accessories to change up any look- it’s fun and inexpensive.

  6. Georgiana says:

    These are great ideas! There’s no reason that tees have to be boring.

    1. TriOptic says:

      Thank you! Yes, you’re right tees don’t need to be boring at all…. there’s always a way to spruce it up.

  7. caseyp1110 says:

    Love the different combos you put together!

  8. Camilla says:

    Great tips! I’m a total “jeans and a tee” kinda girl so I love all of these looks!

    1. TriOptic says:

      Right on! Thank you, as you can see… we love a good tee. Add my favorite pair of jeans and I am good to go.

  9. Great post! T-shirts can be so versatile

    1. TriOptic says:

      Thank you! They absolutely are 🙂

  10. naturallymadewithlove says:

    Great tips! I never really put much thought into styling my tees before!

    1. TriOptic says:

      Thank you 🙂 I didn’t either until my husband and kids started doing it. I get inspiration from them

      1. naturallymadewithlove says:

        Aww! What a sweet source of inspiration

  11. Madi White says:

    These are such great tees! Love them.

    1. TriOptic says:

      Thank you! He’s wearing some of my favorites as well.

  12. fullestmom says:

    Tee shirt lover for life! This is a good post on how to keep it fresh. I’m usually black shirt, blue jeans type gal.

    1. TriOptic says:

      Yes, right on! Me too, my closet is filled with my favorite black tees (because you can’t just have one) and faded blue jeans.

  13. Lacey says:

    I have so many tshirts I usually just end up wearing when I’m vegging out around the house. This is a great way to change it up a little!!

    1. TriOptic says:

      I’m the same way! I get my inspiration from my husband and kids (these toddlers are pretty inventive with the way they wear it, lol).

  14. Briana Marie says:

    These are such great tips! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

